Citizenship commission report - comments from hoi polloi

Here you might discuss basically everything.

Moderator: SC Moderators

Jamie Palisades
I need a hobby
I need a hobby

Citizenship commission report - comments from hoi polloi

Post by Jamie Palisades »

About the report recently posted at http://forums.neufreistadt.info/viewtop ... =8735#8735

For what it's worth, as a resident, I agree with the reported"#1" choice of permitting nonlandowners to join for a fee. The benefits of having a greater number of persons invested (especially in the communal sense) in our communities outweigh, to me, the risks mentioned.

As was pointed out. some re-exam of the limits around respecting "property rights" probably would be wise, as nonlandowners join the polity.

A principal risk discussed was "ballot packing" with new residents at election time. While a genuine risk, this seems to me mitigatable. Some reasonable filters are possible, like closing the rolls x weeks before a vote, LL account age of >x days, etc. All voting jurisdictions must, in their own laws, address voting fraud, as well as misuse of voter rolls as an entrenchment or exclusionary device, and balance both evils.

It seems to me that SL and CDS are and should be, more like those RL nations who welcome and metabolise immigrants, than those who harshly sort out the Volk from the Gastarbeitern. Thanks to the commission for its study of this issue. JP

== My Second Life home is CDS. Retired after three terms
== as chancellor of the oldest self-governing sims in SL.
Beathan
Forum Wizard
Forum Wizard

Post by Beathan »

Jamie --

Thanks for your comment, but I disagree with your position. There is far more at stake than mere "ballot stuffing" in a move to "fee based citizenship."