Introduction of Beathan Vale

Here you might discuss basically everything.

Moderator: SC Moderators

Beathan
Forum Wizard
Forum Wizard

Introduction of Beathan Vale

Post by Beathan »

Hello,

I am going to be a new citizen in Colonia Nova. (I'm currently looking at a nice little house across the streeth from the amphitheater.) I am currently slogging through these forums and will post some substantial messages in them this weekend and over the next few weeks. Therefore, I think a self-introduction is in order so that people don't think, "who is this guy?" While I have met many of you in the Sims, I wanted to intorduce myself in these forums as well.

Like Ashcroft, I am a trial attorney. My practice primarily involves commercial litigation -- and more specifically involves construction, real property, environmental, and natural resource litigation.

However, unlike Ashcroft, I am an American and I make my home on the shore of the other Ocean (in Olympia, Washington to be exact).

I specifically chose Colonia Nova because it is a self-described Colony. My family left England to set up a separatist community in Leiden, Holland in the early Seventeenth Century. Not finding Holland any more amenable than England, they sent my ancestor, Robert Cushman, to negotiate with the King of England for a right to found a community in Virginia. He received a Charter to do so, and the community set sail in two ships. The one my ancestor was on, the Speedwell, sprung a leak and had to turn back. The other one, which you have probably heard of, got lost on the way to Virginia, landed on a rock in what is now Massachusetts. where the colonists built a church and a brewery, the combination of which led to their decision to abandon their promise to the King, whom they didn't like anyway, that they would settle in Virginia. (My ancestor arrived the next year).