Thoughts about Metaverse Economics

Here you might discuss basically everything.

Moderator: SC Moderators

Jon Seattle
I need a hobby
I need a hobby

Thoughts about Metaverse Economics

Post by Jon Seattle »

The following are just a few thoughts about economic organization of second life. I am just beginning to think about this, but it seems relevant to NB’s longer term plans.

The Lindon’s primitive allocation on land area are second life’s rough way of allocating computer and communication resources to members and insuring limits on the complexity of any any visible scene. I say rough, because they are only an approximate measure of the resources consumed. In many cases texture downloading and rendering may be more expensive that rendering primitive shapes.

There are a number of projects that involve the development of open-source systems similar to second life. My guess is that one of these will become a feasible replacement in the next three years or so. The Croquet project (http://www.opencroquet.org/), for example, is rapidly approaching this point.
Once everyone can download and run a server, the economics of primitive and land allocation change radically. Primitives may still be a commodity in shared servers that function like directories, but when anyone can run their own server on the grid, primitives cease to be a scarce resource.

I really do not know how second life will respond to these changes. Especially if it becomes relatively inexpensive to set up competition to second life.

What is left, once the primitive problem is solved? Setting up a system for the exchange of intellectual property. If you teleport to someone else’s sim, do they get rights to everything you bring with you? Probably not. What are the rules and social conventions that govern IP rights? Should they set by US law?! What are the technological means for enforcing property rights across servers?

Rubaiyat
Casual contributor
Casual contributor

thoughts

Post by Rubaiyat »

Jon,